The Science & Engagement Team (SET) is charged with maintaining a connection between the academic geoscience and technology communities in EarthCube, facilitating engagement among the EarthCube community and individual geoscientists, as well as, linking the activities of the wider-EarthCube effort to relevant organizations and initiatives.  It is co-chaired by Denise Hills, Emma Aronson and D. Sarah Stamps.

Merged with the Science & Engagement Team

  • The Liaison Team (LT) seeks to establish partnerships with existing cyber-initiatives, agencies, associations, and other efforts external to the NSF core constituency, including international activities as well as the private sector.   The current focus is on mapping the larger geo/CI landscape and community; populating landscape map with organizations, initiatives, agencies, data facilities, etc.; and assessing where EarthCube fits into this landscape.  View current version of the map.
  • The Engagement Team (ET) role is to encourage involvement in EarthCube by proactively reaching out to the geoscience community.  Three working groups are centered around mapping the community engagement scope; conveying new tools and cases; and facilitating internal communication.

The Technology & Architecture Committee (TAC) role is to test and facilitate technology and architecture development.  It is co-chaired by David Fulker and Donata Giglio; its work is enabled by several working groups whose initial focus is on describing the System of Systems (SoS) architecture of the EarthCube cyberinfrastructure; identifying the technical requirements of the SoS through science use cases; conducting a funded projects gap analysis; developing testbeds for the funded projects; and identifying appropriate standards for EarthCube cyberinfrastructure to ensure interoperability.

The Council of Data Facilities (CDF) is a federation of existing and emerging geoscience data facilities that serve as a foundation for EarthCube and cyberinfrastructure for the geosciences. An Executive Committee comprises two co-chairs (Kerstin Lehnert, Corinna Gries), and 3 other community representatives. The CDF Charter was approved in December 2014. At the its 2015 Winter General Assembly Meeting, the CDF agreed that an inventory of the CDF members' domains, capabilities, contacts, and points of engagement for the broad EC community would be valuable.

The Nominations Committee helps identify and evaluate candidates for elected office. The mission of the Nominations Committee is to assure a fair, inclusive, and expeditious process for identifying candidates for all EarthCube’s elected offices (i.e., the Leadership Council Chair, Leadership Council Members, Standing Committee Chairs, and Team Chairs).

The Council of Funded Projects (CFP) is a new working group that serves as a base for active EarthCube projects. Its goal is to onboard new projects into the EarthCube community, discover and help meet the needs of projects, and for the group to help guide EarthCube in focus on what is working, and fix or leave behind what is not working well. Experienced EarthCube members and the EarthCube Office can offer support by connecting projects where needed to elements in geoscience, data, and tech communities. The group is chaired by Basil Tikoff.